Survival shotgun set up

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by hank2222, Mar 15, 2021.

1. hank2222

hank2222 Monkey+++

Ok here is a idea I have been playing around with for a few months now

single shot 12.ga shot 3..”chamber with following modifications done to
    barrel cut back to 20.”inches long with threaded Interchangeable choke tubes on the unit
    Each choke is design for diff types of hunting
    Bird upland type of birds
    Turkey
    Squirrel
    Etc
    1913 picatinny rail on barrel for quick mounting of rifle scope and red dot scopes set ups
    Heavy duty cerakote flat black color on all barrel and other parts
    Dark walnut stock and forend
    With following scopes
    1.-x-4.-x-24mm scope set up
    Aim point red dot scope set up

barrel insert -each barrel insert is 18.”inches long
    Calibers
    22.l.r.
    44.magnum
    410..ga -45.long colt also
    This idea system for the area I’m in now the hunting is at less than 100.max range because of heavy forest land in and round the house .So take a deer is good for me out to 75. Yards max range

2. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

@hank2222 Been a while since I ha ve seen you here, welcome back...

Gator 45/70 and chelloveck like this.
  3. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

That setup will work. Do a bit of looking around, the basic gun is probably available. The needed mods will take a good smith. Welcome home @hank2222

4. oil pan 4

oil pan 4 Monkey+++

In heavy forests a shotgun is a very good choice. I fell about 12 deer with a shotgun with 00 buck, just about always hit them from the side. The 00 buck always went straight through. Sloppiest deer kill was early on, I shot one in the face from less than 20 yards, looked like a mob hit job.
    You don't want to rupture their guts with a shotgun, I never did but saw the results of someone who did and I didn't need to learn that lesson first hand.