Raspberry Pi computer.

Discussion in 'Technical' started by duane, Jul 8, 2024.

1. duane

duane Monkey+++

I have been playing around with the Raspberry Pi computer for a few years as a way to archive data and to run projects to control things in my greenhouse. Very happy with it. I first got interested in its output pins and way to both read data and control relays. The software was very easy to use, usually, often just copy someone else's work. Price was right.

Beginning with the Raspberry Pi 4 I started to use it as a computer. Size of a pack of smokes, use about 15 watts of power at 5 volts, used USB storage, work with any hdmi capable tv ect. I used it with a Harbor Freight solar power , about 50 watts, a deep charge battery, and a small monitor that drew about 1watt, 7 in screen. Had one to play with and one kept in a fairly good emp resistant cage. I also bought a cd reader that would plug into the USB port so that I could read the old cd's I had with information and moved data from hard drives to cd's in some cases.

Starting with the Raspberry Pi 5 I switched my browsing to it as well. Bought one as soon as I could and have been using it for a few months. Most of the things I am putting up are descriptions from a place called Adafruit that sells Raspberry Pi stuff. Don't get anything from them but the prices and service have been good.

First is the Raspberry Pi.

Raspberry Pi 5 - 8 GB RAM