Kaboom at the range this weekend

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by hot diggity, Feb 28, 2023.

1. hot diggity

hot diggity Monkey+++ Site Supporter+++

Not the fault of the rifle or the ammo. This was clearly operator error, and a failure of training and basic respect for the rifle.

Shooter had a push-feed Ruger in .308 Winchester. Had already slid one round into the chamber, but he hadn't closed the bolt to force the extractor over the case rim. He then pulls the bolt back, and seeing no round attached to the bolt, feeds a second round into the rear of the round already in the chamber.

I don't know what kind of force he applied to the bolt to fire the primer on the round in the chamber, but it was probably less than the force applied to his hand and wrist by the bolt when the cartridge went off. I've been working on ranges for more than forty years and have never seen this kind of kaboom before.

It blew the back off the chambered case, with melted copper jacket from the bullet of case #2 all around the primer pocket. It bent case #2 about in half as the pressure tried to escape. Snappped the rim off case #2, broke the extractor, and ejector and blew the guts out of the magazine. Completely splintered the synthetic stock and drove pieces of it into the shooters hand.

Corpsmen patched him up and stopped the bleeding, but they left the splinter in his hand after checking his torso for more potentially fatal splinters

The lesson? Know your firearm, respect it, and never force things. If it isn't working, stop and figure out the problem.

The weekday RSO and I sat down today and looked over his box of blown up cases, broken shells extracted by other shells. Wrong ammo fired in the gun and incredibly bad reloads.

The fact that we each have such a box says all you need to know about firearm training. Get some. Ask questions. Don't be "That guy" and don't forget to say "See you next time" when you leave. :)

Last edited: Feb 28, 2023
  2. Gator 45/70