Mosby Here Come the Outlaws! By Attila

Discussion in '3 Percent' started by survivalmonkey, Aug 21, 2024.

1. survivalmonkey

survivalmonkey Monkey+++

The following is a greatly appreciated reader contribution. It is a beginning look at using bikes for long distance, varied terrain travel. Hopefully, we can get more contributions on this area, and sub sets of this area, since it’s one in which I have zero background to speak of. –JM

For background, I do not identify as a cyclist; the physical act of pedaling for hours holds little appeal to me, I’d rather be hiking or canoeing or sailing, but my partner is a cyclist, and if I want to hang out with her, I am obliged to get on a bike and pedal across mountains and deserts and remote regions of developing nations on several continents. So the little bit I know is thanks to her, and the many thousands of miles I’ve logged since she started letting me tag along. And I asked her some questions to verify the accuracy of what I’ll tell you.

As with so many sports, specialization has taken over bicycling, and information and resources about what we are interested in is more than a little cluttered. If we agree that we’d like a bike, not for the fun of pedaling across landscapes or bombing down mountain bike trails or racing in any fashion, but rather, for the purpose of carrying significant loads (how significant your load is reflects you mission and priorities…see John’s recent article “10 essentials” about “survival” loadouts…probably most of us are carrying too much most of the time) over long distances, over surfaces that might range from paved, to gravel, to dirt, to unmaintained footpaths, with gear that is robust enough to not fall apart in austere conditions, and can be mostly user maintained without the need for too many or too heavy of tools.