Debris Shelter

Discussion in 'Bushcraft' started by sticks65, Nov 19, 2010.

1. sticks65

sticks65 Monkey++

Some time ago a friend asked me how I would build a shelter if for some unknown reason a day hike turned into a night or so in the woods with no tent-tarp or sleeping bag.

So yesterday I finely got the chance to get some dirt time in and make a video.

Ive been making these types of shelter since I was around 9 years old and think they are the best natural shelter that a person can make.

You need no tools and use what is found on the wood land floor.

One thing I learnt when I worked as a gardener is that rotting leaves give of heat and once your Debris shelter has been up for a few hours you will start to notice the warmth of the leaves this is because they are being broken down by micro organisms,They obtain energy by oxidizing organic material,This oxidation process heats up the leaves from ambient air temperature. If proper conditions are present, the pile will heat up fairly rapidly due to bacteria consuming readily decomposable materials by the micro organisms.

YouTube - Debris shelter.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. RightHand

RightHand Been There, Done That RIP 4/15/21 Moderator Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

I can't wait to give that a try. Glad to see you back sticks. Your posts are always like an offer to have an adventure

3. sticks65

sticks65 Monkey++

Been popping in from time to time but didn't have much to say.;)

Life should have its adventures because I think we get caught up in the drudges of everyday life and forget about some down time with ourselves and mother nature,it good for the soul.

Thanks for your comments much appritiated.[boozingbuddies]

[​IMG]

4. Brokor

Brokor Live Free or Cry Moderator Site Supporter+++ Founding Member

Man you really could have stuffed that huge orange bag with a bunch of leaves and made yourself a sweet little bed! Yeah, I like the way you think, Knapster! =P

5. sticks65